Stringing Words Together

Today I had the opportunity to work with a gifted poet and about 30 women in my congregation, using words to engage worship in a new way.

We used the framework of a French Pantoum to prompt aspiring and shy poets, alike.

I assured them I wasn’t a poet, but there’s something about being true to the Pantoum form that makes everyone sound like Mary Oliver.

This is what tumbled out for me …

I am not in the habit of experiencing the Holy these days

One forgets how to make the movements

Remember how Moonlight Sonata sounds played with ease?

Counting notes (every good boy does fine) to try and remember what key my finger should be resting on.

One forgets how to make the movements

I sigh and mutter that it’s just too hard to practice again

Counting notes (every good boy does fine) to try and remember what key my finger should be resting on

Putting one foot in front of the other – no matter if it’s raining and if I’ve forgotten my hooded jacket.

 I sigh and mutter that it’s just too hard to practice again

Remember how Moonlight Sonata sounds played with ease?

Putting one foot in front of the other – no matter if it’s raining and if I’ve forgotten my hooded jacket

I am not in the habit of experiencing the Holy these days.

Want to write your own? Just free write for a paragraph or so and then underline 6 phrases that especially resonate with you. Then, use those 6 phrases to create three stanzas …

Stanza 1

Line 1 (new line):

Line 2 (new line):

Line 3 (new line):

Line 4 (new line):

Stanza 2

Line 5 (repeat of line 2 in stanza 1):

Line 6 (new line):

Line 7 (repeat of line 4 in stanza 1):

Line 8 (new line):

Stanza 3

Line 9 (repeat line 2 of the previous stanza):

Line 10 (repeat line 3 of the first stanza):

Line 11 (repeat line 4 of the previous stanza):

Line 12 (repeat line 1 of the first stanza):

 

Leave a Reply

